My Foundation Routine

Lately I’ve been on a quest to perfect my foundation routine.  My goal is flawless skin without having to pack on a ton of makeup.  I’ve always been they type who believes that less is more when it comes to makeup, ESPECIALLY when it comes to face makeup.  After trying many different things, I have finally concocted the perfect combination for my annoying, oily skin.

The first (and most important) part of any skin routine is a good primer.  Most foundations won’t sit well on your skin without one and for me, I find myself incredibly oily by the end of the day when I don’t use one.  At the moment, I’m using Smashbox’s Iconic Photo Finish Primer and I absolutely LOVE it!  Immediately after applying my face feels baby soft and it’s the perfect base for my foundation.  It makes my pores practically disappear and my foundation stays all day without getting oily or melted looking.  The best part about this primer is that they have a huge of variety.  Have really red skin?  They have a color correcting one.  Want extreme pore minimization?  Try the pore minimizing version.  Dry skin?  Go for the hydrating one.  They literally have a primer for any skin type you may have!

Now that primer is out of the way, lets talk foundation.  I have played the drugstore game of trying to find cheap foundation and “matching” your skin tone with how it looks in the bottle but trust me, this is not the way to go.  If you want your face to look truly flawless, go somewhere like Sephora or Ulta and have a professional match your skin type and tone.  I suggest going one of those stores as opposed to a makeup counter in Macy’s or something because the people at those counters are trying to sell you THEIR products and not necessarily what is best for you.  If you go into Sephora, the professionals there will find the right product for you and there are so many options that you will definitely be able to find the right one.

Go without any makeup on, or maybe just your primer and have one of the ladies test out a couple different foundations on you.  Tell her your skin type (and be honest) so she can pick the perfect type of foundation, then let her test out a couple different colors to find the perfect shade.  The best part about shopping for foundations at stores like Ulta and Sephora?  You can return their products if you don’t like it, and yes, even if you have used it! (note: it should be GENTLY used, not empty or old).  This comes in really handy when you find the perfect foundation but later realize the shade isn’t just right.  Right now, I’m using the tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation and am totally digging it.  Paired with my primer, my foundation stays fresh looking all day and none of that pesky oil breaks through, even after a full day of work.  It makes me look like I don’t even have makeup on yet still gives such a great amount of coverage that I don’t even have to use concealer.  I’m obsessed.

Finally I finish with a powder to set everything even though with the tarte foundation I don’t REALLY need to, I just like the look of a powder finish.   Lately, I have been using the beingTRUE Protective Mineral Foundation Compact.  I am fairly pleased with this powder but plan to try the Laura Mercier Mineral Pressed Powder when it runs out because I’ve heard such great things about it!

So that is my new foundation routine that has taken me months to perfect (and is still ongoing).  Hopefully this is somewhat useful to you if you are looking for a combination of things that work for your skin!  Feel free to comment with your routine, tips, products you use or any questions you have!

XO Dani

Leave a Reply

