New Years Resolutions

Every year I make a couple resolutions of what I want to change in the upcoming year.  I wouldn’t even call them resolutions per se, they are more just mental notes of things I need to work on.  Because of that, they rarely work, so this year I decided to do things a little differently.  I put 5 “resolutions” down on paper and listed specifics and steps that I need to take to truly make them happen.  Because I recently graduated this past month, this year will be my first year as a “real adult” and I want to make it my best year yet.  It will be my year to be the healthiest and happiest I have ever been, the year of financial independence, and more than anything my year to figure out who I am and come into my own. .So here they are, my 5 New Years Resolutions

1. Be Healthier

This is a very broad goal because there are several different parts to it that I want to include that result in being healthier overall.  Mainly, I want to get back to my “goal weight” which is less of a number to me but more of just where I felt the healthiest, the most comfortable in my body and was happiest.  In order to do that, I’m going to plan out my meals (and grocery trips) so that I have dinner and lunches planned out for each week, meaning less eating out and no more last minute pizza deliveries (gahh).  I’m also going to go back to using myfitnesspal which has been by far the most effective tool for managing my weight/healthy living.  I also plan on working out every day (at some point), though I’m going to start with just a couple days a week to get myself going. I’m also going to try and drink 70 oz of water every day, not eat after 8 pm and cut out fast food and soda completely. Oh and floss daily. Got all that? Good.

2. Become More Organized

I know, I know, these resolutions are so cliche, but they really are things I need to work on.  Lately, I have felt like my life is getting away from me and that I have more stuff than I know what to do with.  My boyfriend and I live in a tiny apartment and we have far too much crap for how much space we have.  As a result, I plan to de-clutter my life with a few easy steps.  First of all, I’m going to assign certain days of the week to different cleaning tasks.  Example: Sunday is laundry day, or Tuesdays I vacuum.  If I have it planned out, it will be harder for me to push it off.   Another thing I want to work on is just taking my time to put something away RIGHT after I use it.  No more “oh I’ll do it later” or “I’ll just set this here for now.”  Everything will have a place and I will put it back right away.  This brings me to my next point of making sure EVERYTHING has a place.  I will invest in whatever organizational tools I need to make sure everything has a home that is out of sight.  I’ll get new shelves, closet organizers, storage bins, the works! And finally, I’m going to get rid of all my junk!  I’m terrified that one day I’m going to turn into a hoarder because I can never bring myself to get rid of anything.  That needs to stop, STAT.

3. Save Money

I feel like this is everyone’s goal (including mine) each year but this year I’m serious and I have a plan.  I am going to sit down and create a real budget.  How responsible of me, I know.  But in all seriousness, I’m going to set aside money for all my bills each month, determine specific amounts for things like groceries (and stick to them), and create a “fun” fund that will supply all the unnecessary necessities (I crack myself up) that I want.  It will fund things like eating out and going to movies, as well as new makeup and clothes if I feel like shopping.  Also, I plan to put $100 of each paycheck  into my savings AND NOT TAKE IT OUT.  Ever.  No matter what.  This way I will ensure all my “needs” are paid for, my savings will grow, and if there is leftover moolah for my “wants” I will know how much I can spend and not go a cent over.

4. Be a Positive Influence in the World

This is more of a spiritual resolution but is maybe the most important one.  I want to give good energy into the universe and cut down any negative energy I’m putting out there.  I plan to stop gossiping and talking shit, as well as start looking for the positive things in situations rather than the negative.  I plan to slow down and take my time with things.  Life isn’t such a rush!  I want to give my all into everything I do, and stick with it ’till the end.  I think it’s important to stop and think about they way we go about life and ask ourselves, “Is this making the situation better or worse?”  I plan to always shoot for “better.”

5.  Enjoy this year

Finally, I plan to just enjoy the shit out of this year.  It will be my first year in the “real world” and I plan on making the best of it.  I’m going to stop and enjoy the little things in life and stop stressing over everything.  I’m going to make more time for the things I love including my boyfriend, reading, blogging, snowboarding, art, family and friends, and finally just being outdoors.  Basically I just am going to live this year up and enjoy my time I have on this earth.

So those are my New Years Resolutions this year, I’ll try and update you on whether or not I’m sticking to them.  I plan on diversifying my blog more and writing about health and fitness, fashion, and my psychological well-being a bit more instead of mainly makeup posts.  So stay tuned and if you have any Resolutions that you want to share feel free to comment below!

XO Dani

Leave a Reply

